Talks

Talks Programme for 2018-19

Our talks programme runs from Sept 2018 to May 2019. Illustrated talks are held on Monday evenings at Greenhead College, Huddersfield.

Meetings start at 7:15 pm in room M18. Directions to the college are below.

Non-members are always most welcome.

Date Talk Details
Monday 10th September Tony Felski – Coal; Formation, Classification and Mining Techniques in Britain
Monday 8th October AGM followed by John Williams – The geology of the Gower Peninsula
Monday 12th November Steve Rogers – Engineering Geology in Papua New Guinea
Monday 10th December Christmas Do – Meal & Quiz at the Croppers Arms 7pm in Marsh
Monday 21st January Lesley Collins – Geology of the Lizard Peninsula
Monday 11th February Candice Bedford – The latest news from the Mars Curiosity Rover
Monday 11th March Laura Gregory – Faults and Earthquake hazards – the past is the key to the present
Monday 8th April Tracy Aze – Micropaleontology – An introduction and its uses.
Monday 13th May Helen Michael – Classification of Granitoid Rocks
There is a charge of £4.00 per meeting which includes refreshments (or you may wish to pay an annual membership rate for talks of £20).

Please e-mail us for further details or contact our chair at chair@huddersfieldgeology.org.uk

Download a copy of the programme.

Greenhead College

The college is five minutes walk from the bus and railway stations

Back to Top

NEXT FIELD TRIP

The new programme will be available from late August 

NEXT TALK

Monday 9th September. The new programme will be available from late August

Greenhead College Room M18 at 7.15pm.

UPCOMING EVENTS